When Mom’s Away the Boys Will…Not Play?

father-son11

People say that babies can smell when their mothers walk into the room. I’ve tried to research this for factual proof, but so far it seems to just be an old wives’ tale, which Wikipedia says are usually unverified. I’ve had a few opportunities to test out this tale, and so far I see why it’s been passed down for so long.

I have been blessed with a companion that understands the need for “me time.” On several occasions during our 2 months as parents he’s encouraged me to get out of the house and just do me. I was a little apprehensive at first. Would it make me a bad mother to leave my 1 month old child for my own fun? Would I even be able to leave as a breastfeeding mom? I thought having kids meant every outing was now a family outing. I was not expecting to taste freedom so soon. Where would I go? What would I do? How would my guys handle it?

I spent my first taste of freedom indulging in the mall. After all of the prep work of making bottles, pumping milk, changing clothes, and making sure daddy had everything he needed, I left the house on a super exciting high. Of course as a new parent I was drawn to all the kid stores. I spent more money on my son than I did on myself. I was gone for a total of 3 hours, but not without checking in several times. When I arrived at the mall my fiancee sent a picture of my son asleep. No big deal; he’s just napping; he’ll be up in about an hour, an hour and a half tops. I began my shopping and later received another picture message. My son had been moved from sleeping in my fiancee’s arms to sleeping in his crib. I took a break in the food court, but I still had some more shopping to do.

About 3 hours after my departure I finally headed home. I called my fiancee and was told “yeah he’s still sleep.” Shaking my head I responded “okay, I’m almost home.”

I walked in the house and quietly headed upstairs to my son’s room. I was excited to show the goodies I got. As soon as I stepped into my son’s room he started to squirm, his signature ” I’m waking up” move. ” He smelled you” my fiancee tells me. I couldn’t believe it! He slept the entire time I was gone and woke up as soon as I got home.

Since then I’ve been out a few more times without my son and the story remains the same. He’s asleep by the time I get to my destination and wakes up upon my return.

So I guess it’s true what they say, babies have a unique sense of smell for their mothers. That’s so uncool because when I do get up the nerve to leave him with a sitter I want to get my monies worth!!

Posted on May 2, 2013, in Baby Boys, Life & Inspiration, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

