Random Thoughts on Love and Relationships

Love and Other Things     Love is perhaps the hardest thing to find in its most genuine form in today’s society. Some may find that “real thing” early on in life, whereas others may spend a lifetime trying to obtain it. Nowadays there are so many types of love and ways in which people define it. Love used to be in its simplest form, pure and unwarranted, however it seems that one must have a recipe in order to reach the ultimate phase of being completely and utterly in love with someone. The issue is that, there is always at least one ingredient missing that ultimately hinders the perfect batch of love from being created.

     I like to deem myself a hopeless romantic, and therefore I have an idea of what love is based on my own notions and experiences, and one thing I’ve learned is that sometimes our concepts of love are not always practical. Love shouldn’t be painful but worth fighting for, it shouldn’t be hard to obtain but also it shouldn’t easily be replaceable, most importantly love shouldn’t be practical, but it should be spontaneous and full of thought and excitement. People seem to fall out of love rather quickly in today’s society, and love can quickly turn into hate. Passion is perhaps the most intense component of love. Without passion, love loses its spark and ultimately begins to fizzle away.

      I’ve seen lasting love, as many of us have at some point in our lives. My grandparents were married for 52 years, my grandfather passed away four days before their 53rd anniversary. So I know that everlasting and chivalrous love still exists, I’m just waiting for my turn. I believe that it is still possible to have a “until death do us part” type of love. Therefore, I’m waiting remaining patient and in the mean time working on other aspects of my life that will one day prepare me for the man who is perfect for me.

     Ultimately, there are so many ways in which the dynamic and concept of love have changed, and yes, sometimes I begin to lose hope, but something always happens to restore my faith (I read a book, hear a story, watch a movie, attend a wedding). I may not know the day or the hour, but I have a great feeling that the man whom is right for me is out here in the world being prepared for me as I am for him….

     Here are a few questions I would like to pose for you to think about in regard to love and relationships…

  • What has changed in society over the last 60 years, why are marriages failing so quickly?
  • Have we become highly influenced by the media and it’s idea of love and relationships?
  • Do we still have the same regard for monogamy?
  • Do we as a society still value and respect the institution of marriage as per say our grandparents and parents?
About msznicole

Life has been a calming sea of smiles and a series of erupting volcanoes for me over the last few years. I'm just trying to enjoy each moment as they occur for the time being.

Posted on May 4, 2013, in Life & Inspiration, Love & Relationships, Realizations. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

