I Can Do It All, You Little Identity Thief

workingmom

My son is the youngest identity thief you’ll ever meet. But I’ve taken a stand and reclaimed my womanhood!

When my son was born life became all about him. I stopped working, stopped exercising, stopped caring about almost anything except him. Motherhood made me feel like I had arrived. But after about 2 months it consumed me. While I was grateful to be a mom, and felt like I had been given the highest honor, I also felt like everything that built up to motherhood had vanished. I was always with my son. Even when I was given a “break” I would still eventually end up changing a diaper, feeding, or putting my son to sleep. On top of that, I was in desperate need of some adult interaction and fun. The icing on the cake came one night I got a call about a consulting gig. The company asked for a proposal the next day. I was excited about the opportunity to make money again. But my fiancee was away at work and my son would not go to sleep. I began to feel like I would never be anything more than a mother. I wasn’t working, I don’t cook (my fiancee likes to cook and is good at it so don’t judge), I don’t go out, my life revolved around my son and there was no room for anything else.

I had had enough. The next morning I typed up that proposal and decided that I would make dinner. With my baby glued to me I made my way to the store, picked up what I needed, came home and began cooking. It took about 4-5 hours from start to finish (everything takes longer with a baby) but I did it and I felt accomplished. I shocked everyone but I needed that. I needed to know that I could still do more than watch a baby all day. I needed to know that I could take care of my family and be a business woman. I know and see women do it every day. I needed to know that I could do it too.

I enjoy being a mom. I just have to learn how to bring everything else into balance. I’ll get it one day soon. Being a mommy is just part of my womanhood.

Posted on May 30, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. #Tears I feel the same way:) I love you!

  2. I love it! You are an amazing, caring mother! God bless you and your supportive family. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

